Got link ?

Publié le par Lucie

Are you linked in ? If you're wondering what I'm talking about, I take it you're not. Linked In is yet another social network —except that one wouldn't make for such a successful movie— but it's not just any social network. It's an executive social network (just thought I'd get a little Eddie Izzard reference in there). I must say I find the concept very appealing, and I can't wait to have lots of exciting things to fill my profile with. The idea behind Linked In and the likes (Viadeo and Business People, for instance) is for professionals to build a professional network consisting of their friends, past and former colleagues, schoolmates, employers (and employees) and generally anyone who represents a potential career boost (but you need to know their email, so it's not that easy to link yourself with, say, Bill Gates). These people can vouch for you by dropping a word about your abilities and professional qualities, and I seem to understand that people in your network can send your profile to other people in their network (someone looking to hire, for example).
So Linked In to me seems like the brilliant Web 2.0 equivalent of word of mouth. I had been pondering whether or not to register, and had decided upon waiting until I had a semblance of professional experience to speak of, but we've been talking in class about the necessity of a strong network, and anyway I was curious, so I joined. I can certainly see how it could make a great difference to one's career, and I've been told it works quite well. So, as I'm about to set off onto the professional world of translation, you can now find me on Linked In and tell your friends/colleagues/boss about me (I'm pretty sure you can lay your hands on my full name if you root about these pages). I'm curious to see how Linked In will evolve and whether it will experience the Fb effect (although I don't suppose so, as it lacks photos and juicy gossip).
Anyway, how many of you have a Linked In account? And do you find it useful? Or do you see it as yet another feat of our willing enslavement to computers ?

 

Linked In, c'est la version Web 2.0 du bouche à oreille : un réseau social pour les professionnels qui veulent se construire un réseau social de professionnels (j'insiste pour bien faire comprendre la différence avec d'autres réseaux sociaux). Celui qui souhaite s'y inscrire ouvre un profil qu'il remplit avec ses informations professionnelles (formation, postes occupés, tâches accomplies, compétences...il y a même la possibilité de charger son CV), puis il construit son réseau en y ajoutant anciens camarades de promo, collègues (passés ou présents), employeurs ou tout autre personne avec qui il a pu être en contact professionnel (il suffit de connaître son adresse email). Les membres de votre réseau peuvent alors consulter votre profil et rédiger sur votre mur des recommendations quant à la qualité de votre travail. Encore plus intéressante est la possibilité d'envoyer un profil à quelqu'un de son entourage. Exemple : A a travaillé avec B qui était à l'école avec C. B a entendu que A cherchait à employer quelqu'un correspondant au profil de C. B envoie le profil de C à A. C est embauché par A !
Prometteur, n'est-ce pas ? Encore faut-il avoir un CV bien rempli (c'est un outil qui se dirige essentiellement aux cadres et autres professions à haute valeur ajoutée, et les profils font rêver). Le mien est encore bien maigrichon, mais ça n'est qu'un début ! Du point de vue du design c'est épuré, sobre, dénué de photos (seule une photo de profil), de publicités et de fautes d'orthographe, ce qui en fait un réseau social assez reposant. Gageons que c'est l'avenir du recrutement.
Alors, avez-vous déjà un compte Linked In ? Entre nouveau degré de dépendance aux ordinateurs, phénomène de mode des réseaux sociaux et véritable outil professionnel, qu'en pensez-vous ?

 

Please don't be shy, drop me a word (surtout mes collègues du Cétim, la majorité silencieuse ),

Lucie

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article